Love the way photographers can re-interpret what they see? Read TheSartorialist.

thesartorialist
photo of the day
TheSartorialist
on blogspot

It’s tagline is: “selected as one of Time Magazine’s Top 100 design influencers”.

Scott Schuman of The Sartorialist writes,

I started The Sartorialist simply to share photos of people that I saw on the streets of New York that I thought looked great. When I worked in the fashion industry (15 years), I always felt that there was a disconnect between what I was selling in the showroom and what I was seeing real people (really cool people) wearing in real life
Rarely do they (designers) look at the whole outfit as a yes or no but they try and look for the abstract concepts of color, proportion, pattern mixing or mixed genres everyday people have been inspired to see themselves and others in a new and usually more accepting way.

Browsing and reading the blog is really quite refreshing. It is possible it’s because I’ve been reading female writers and their perspectives and reporting on fashion and style for all my life. I mean all. Yes, really *all* my life up until now. I rarely read male perspectives. However, over the last few years I’d been bumping into more and more male fashion/style writing in editorial magazines of the English broadsheet newspapers; but there wasn’t enough of a certain calibre to keep me going.

The Sartorialist is different in this genre because it really is written off-the-cuff from someone who has (in my eyes) good personal opinions. For example a snippet of the write-up that accompanies the photo of the day (see photo) is:

I love the simple urban explorer feel is perfection in its stealth measurably more refined by its juxtaposition with the rugged grooming It is such an art to be well-groomed but not manscaped. This is one of the best examples I’ve seen in a while.

And I guess that is what I like about The Sartorialist: it gives me another eye-sight.  Yes it is sexist, but I like it because I, and many other female fashion and style-lovers, would not have noticed this man on the street, for it really is stealth male style.  But I’m sure we’d fall for it!  Thanks for pointing it out. 

It is one of those styles that you will know when it is missing, but will not be able to pin-point to retrieve it.  Yet it is also discreet enough to be worn by many in the same place… but be warned, it’s not so easy to carry.  If it’s not for you, it’s not for you.  It only looks discreet and stealth because it so becomes and befits the man wearing it.  That, ultimately, is the key to good grooming.

Leave a Reply

